As the saying goes, everything old is new again. So, this week, we’re highlighting an older feature that is just as useful now as it was when we first introduced it: True Archiving.
If you’re unfamiliar with True Archiving, it’s a feature that allows you to restore old versions of your files, even if they are no longer present on your computer. Once you’ve backed up a file to your IDrive account (even just once), it remains there forever (unless you manually delete it or use our Archive Cleanup tool).
IDrive also retains up to 30 versions of files that have been backed up to your account, so whenever you make a change, you can roll-back if you need to. And, those earlier versions do NOT count toward the space in your storage quota.
How can True Archiving be of use to you?
You can restore your files, even if the version you want (or the file itself) is no longer present on your computer. It is still in your IDrive cloud account and available for retrieval whenever you need it.
You can restore earlier versions of files in the event of a data disaster. (i.e. If your computer is affected by a virus some of the most recent backups may contain files that are infected. True Archiving allows you to restore earlier, clean versions.)
Salvage an older version of a file you’ve made changes to. If you edit or update a file and forget to save the original changes, the older version will still be in your IDrive account, provided it was backed up previously.
With True Archiving, there is no need to worry about losing files from the past. The old can be made new, simple restore any version you want to.